Nursing Practice Development Unit

What we do

The Nursing Practice Development Unit (NPDU) strives to promote best possible practice in nursing care, evaluates and supports nursing practice and nursing practice development issues, co-ordinates a network of communication for all nursing developments and promotes audit and research development. Much of the practice development work is done through various committees / working groups and the drafting and implementation of policies/protocols/guidelines (PPGs) and competencies. In addition to ongoing practice development work, the NPDU is responsible for co-ordinating the practice components of the BSc nursing undergraduate degree programme (Theoretical component is provided by Trinity College Dublin (TCD). St James’s Hospital has an average annual intake of 85 nursing students and the Clinical Placement Co-ordinators, Student Allocation Liaison Officer and Nursing Practice Development Coordinator link closely with relevant staff from the School of Nursing and Midwifery, TCD in the co-ordination, evaluation and ongoing development of the BSc Nursing undergraduate degree programme and promotion of an optimal Clinical Learning Environment. Clinical support at ward level is provided by the Clinical Support Nurses. Audit and research advice, support and expertise is provided to both NPDU and clinical staff by the Nursing Quality Coordinator.

Contact Details

Phone:  (01) 428 4604
Fax:  (01) 410 3412

Postal address:
Nursing Practice Development Unit,
Nursing Administration,
1st floor CEO Building,
St. James’s Hospital,
Dublin 8. 

Title 

Name 

Phone 

Email

Nursing Practice Development Coordinator (Acting)

Val O'Brien

(01) 410 3453

vobrien@stjames.ie

Nursing Quality Coordinator  

Julie O'Grady

(01) 428 4601

jogrady@stjames.ie

Nursing Practice Development Facilitator

Silvia Vijay

 (01) 416 2406

SiVijay@stjames.ie

Clinical Placement Coordinators

Sara Paul

Aoife Moran

Anu George

Amy Wilkinson

Comfort Famuyibo

Bernie Mc Gowan

(01) 410 3687

(01) 428 4613

(01) 410 3363

(01) 428 4618

(01) 428 4608

(01) 410 3658

SPaul@stjames.ie

 AMoran@stjames.ie

anugeorge@stjames.ie

awilkinson@stjames.ie

CFamuyibo@stjames.ie

BeMcGowan@stjames.ie

Student Allocation Liaison Officer

Elaine Kennedy

(01) 410 3724

Studentallocations@stjames.ie

Clinical Support Nurse

Orla Cleary

(01) 416 2542 

ocleary@stjames.ie

Clinical Support Nurse

Miriam Deering

 (01) 416 2706

mdeering@stjames.ie

Clinical Support Nurse (MedEl)

Archana D'Souza

 (01) 4162542

adsouza@stjames.ie

Clinical Support Nurse (Adaptation & Special Projects)

Anila Vikrama Kumar

 (01) 416 2706

AVikrama@stjames.ie  

Tissue Viability Nurse

Leonie Mahon

(01) 416 2267 

lemahon@stjames.ie

Tissue Viability Nurse

 Brid Lynch

(01) 416 2267 

blynch@stjames.ie

Pressure Ulcer To Zero Nurse Lead

Ros O Connor

(01) 410 3724

rosoconnor@stjames.ie

NPDU Clerical Support

Carol Sommerville

 (01) 428 4604

csommerville@stjames.ie