Nursing Practice Development Unit

What we do

The Nursing Practice Development Unit (NPDU) strives to promote best possible practice in nursing care, evaluates and supports nursing practice and nursing practice development issues, co-ordinates a network of communication for all nursing developments and promotes audit and research development. Much of the practice development work is done through various committees / working groups and the drafting and implementation of policies/protocols/guidelines (PPGs) and competencies. In addition to ongoing practice development work, the NPDU is responsible for co-ordinating the practice components of the BSc nursing undergraduate degree programme (Theoretical component is provided by Trinity College Dublin (TCD). St James’s Hospital has an average annual intake of 85 nursing students and the Clinical Placement Co-ordinators, Student Allocation Liaison Officer and Nursing Practice Development Coordinator link closely with relevant staff from the School of Nursing and Midwifery, TCD in the co-ordination, evaluation and ongoing development of the BSc Nursing undergraduate degree programme and promotion of an optimal Clinical Learning Environment. Clinical support at ward level is provided by the Clinical Support Nurses. Audit and research advice, support and expertise is provided to both NPDU and clinical staff by the Nursing Quality Coordinator.

Contact Details

Phone:  (01) 428 4604
Fax:  (01) 410 3412

Postal address:
Nursing Practice Development Unit,
Nursing Administration,
1st floor CEO Building,
St. James’s Hospital,
Dublin 8. 

Title 

Name 

Phone 

Email

Nursing Practice Development Coordinator

Val O'Brien

(01) 410 3453

vobrien@stjames.ie

Nursing Quality Coordinator  

Julie O'Grady

(01) 428 4601

jogrady@stjames.ie

Nursing Practice Development Facilitator (Interim)

Silvia Vijay

 (01) 416 2406

SiVijay@stjames.ie

Falls Management Coordinator

Siobhàn Part

 (01) 4284282

 SPart@stjames.ie

Clinical Placement Coordinators

Sara Paul

Aoife Moran (0.5 WTE)

Amy Wilkinson

Comfort Famuyibo

Ashitha Bhaskaran

Susan Thomas

Ros O Connor

Austin Cullen

(01) 410 3687

(01) 428 4613

(01) 428 4618

(01) 428 4608

(01) 4284613

(01) 4284613

(01) 4103034

(01) 4103658

SPaul@stjames.ie

AMoran@stjames.ie

awilkinson@stjames.ie

CFamuyibo@stjames.ie

ABhaskaran@stjames.ie   

SusThomas@stjames.ie   

rosoconnor@stjames.ie

ACullen@stjames.ie

Student Allocation Liaison Officer

Elaine Kennedy

(01) 410 3724

Studentallocations@stjames.ie

Clinical Support Nurse (0.5 WTE)

Clinical Support Nurse

Clinical Support Nurse (MedEl)

Clinical Support Nurse (0.5 WTE)

Orla Cleary

Miriam Deering

Archana D'Souza

Melissa Meally

(01) 416 2542 

(01) 416 2706

(01) 4162542

(01) 4162542

ocleary@stjames.ie

mdeering@stjames.ie

adsouza@stjames.ie

MMeally@stjames.ie   

Clinical Practice Facilitator

Clinical Practice Facilitator

Viny George

Stacey Munnelly

(01) 415 1312

(01) 415 1312

VGeorge@stjames.ie

smunnelly@stjames.ie

Clinical Support Nurse (Adaptation & Special Projects)

Anila Vikrama Kumar

(01) 416 2706

AVikrama@stjames.ie  

Tissue Viability Clinical Nurse Specialists

Brid Lynch

Leonie Mahon

(01) 416 2267 

(01) 416 2267 

blynch@stjames.ie

lemahon@stjames.ie

 



Tabacco Free Campus